KU ISJ Leadership Team

  • President: William Proffitt
  • Vice President/Research Conference Chair: Suman Rath
  • Treasurer: Sohyun Yang
  • Treasurer-Elect: Lindsay Ruhter
  • ISJ Programming Coordinator: Suma Suswaram
  • ISJ Connections Coordinator: Shared responsibility among Leadership Team
  • University/Community Partnership Chair: Kay Park

Department of Special Education Committee Representatives 

  • PPPC: Elissa Lockman Turner
  • Leadership Studies: Haidee Jackson
  • Knowledge Mobilization: Chris Wilt
  • Chair’s Advisory: Paloma Perez-Clark 

Officer Requirements and Qualifications

  • Officers must be a graduate student in the Department of Special Education or a member of ISJ for at least one year.
  • Officers must not be completing dissertation hours. 
  • Officers must not be on academic or citizenship probation.  
  • No membership dues are required in order to be member or officer.
  • Officers’ roles and responsibilities are considered service to the Department of Special Education and the University of Kansas.


Special Education Calendar
#1 public program in nation for special education
—U.S. News & World Report
Wayne Sailor directs KU’s largest grant, the $24.5 million SWIFT project, to develop a national center to assist schools
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today
Connect with KU Special Education

KU Special Education Facebook page KU School of Education YouTube Channel KU Special Education Twitter Feed KU School of Ed instagram icon KU School of Ed LinkedIn icon